LESSONS LEARNT FROM YEAR 2012

LESSON ONE

LIFE IS SHORT AND OUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED: We often hear people use this phrases, but until something tragic happens, that’s when we can make meaning out of them. Loosing two friends in a row has really opened up my eyes to see the way life is short or rather, one may not know their last day on earth.  Munga had been a close friend. He left with a big piece of me, it’s a challenge moving on, especially when i remember how he’d planned his life. Having been my best friend, the torture is too much, but its even worse for his love, who found him dead in his room. Life is short, you never know when you are going to  leave this earth, so make the most out of it.

LESSON TWO

DO NOT TAKE YOUR FRIENDS FOR GRANTED: As much as we don’t think so much of our friends, they play a big role in our lives. Value your friends.

LESSON THREE

DECEIT, WHAT PEOPLE CALL ROMANCE: Lesson learnt; dating is stupid, romance is all pretence.

LESSON FOUR

LIFE IS HARD: Having finished campus at 21 years of age, I have been introduced to the torture of life. No longer dependent on my parents for money, life has become so hard LOL. I have to hustle even more to pay my Fees. With God by my side, I hope this hustle will not be in vain. Then there is stress wah!! If it’s not work its books, if not books its money if its not…This year has been my welcome to Life 🙂 i guess. Na bado…

LESSON FIVE

WHAT THEY CALL MATURE: You might think you are mature but the context that you are in will determine whether you are or not. You might appear or think you are mature among your peers but when you talk to people older than you by 5 or more years, you realize you are just a kid. This is what I call the 360 change.Fresh from campus and into the corporate world.  The vibe transition was a bit awkward for me, i must say. I have been interacting with my peers on normal stupid stuff but having been introduced to what they call the working class, the mature talk side of life, the grown up side…pathetic…you come out a different person at the end of the day.I know this sounds stupid but its my lesson, not yours. I will be looking at this post when am 30 and laughing my pancreas out!! But seriously, you cannot compare campus conversation and corporate.

LESSON SIX

FEAR: 2012 has made me become more fearful than ever before. I am afraid of the future. I am afraid of what else is going to happen next. I am scared that I will die(crazy but true). I am scared of death. Death is real. But i think all this death scares are as a result of the sudden simultaneous death of my good friends. Plus I wish i dint watch that after death clip on you tube. That’s another attribute. And not into dating anymore,just a bit scared, no big deal here; actually great at some point.

This is one of the greatest transformations that have happened to me. I guess.

I am a Goth clad lover, who likes black and red, watches horror movies like comedy and all the novels that I have read from primary school are based on horror, extra-terrestrial and paranormal. These things had defined my life for years. I was not the type of girl who gets scared easily. I was the tom boy who rode her bike without holding the steering handles, who played and one basketball like crazy. I repeat, i was not the kind that gets scared easily.

2012 has begun to change all this. Afraid of small things is scary.Am even scared of the dark. I cant believe this. I can’t watch a hard horror movie in the dark any more. Can you imagine!!Now I do not know really know who I am ama what av become. Kind of hard to define myself as at the moment.What am certain is…I am Scared…Not for long though, i hope. Too much has happened but will get myself back…hopefully 🙂 Will be writing complete opposite next year…God willing

This is not part of  lesson learnt but when i die…would like this song to play in the back ground.

“If I Die Young”

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a, bed of roses
Sink me in the river, at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

Uh oh, uh oh

Lord make me a rainbow, I’ll shine down on my mother
She’ll know I’m safe with you when she stands under my colors, oh,
And life ain’t always what you think it ought to be, no
Ain’t even grey, but she buries her baby

The sharp knife of a short life, well
I’ve had just enough time

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

The sharp knife of a short life, well
I’ve had just enough time

And I’ll be wearing white, when I come into your kingdom
I’m as green as the ring on my little cold finger,
I’ve never known the lovin’ of a man
But it sure felt nice when he was holdin’ my hand,
There’s a boy here in town, says he’ll love me forever,
Who would have thought forever could be severed by

The sharp knife of a short life, well,
I’ve had just enough time

So put on your best, boys, and I’ll wear my pearls
What I never did is done

A penny for my thoughts, oh, no, I’ll sell ’em for a dollar
They’re worth so much more after I’m a goner
And maybe then you’ll hear the words I been singin’
Funny when you’re dead how people start listenin’

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

Uh oh (uh, oh)
The ballad of a dove (oh, uh)
Go with peace and love
Gather up your tears, keep ’em in your pocket
Save ’em for a time when you’re really gonna need ’em, oh

The sharp knife of a short life, well
I’ve had just enough time

So put on your best, boys, and I’ll wear my pearls.

Leave a Reply

