KENYA ELECTS A NEW PRESIDENT (MARCH 4TH ELECTIONS)

Monday morning, 5.00am, the alarm went off. I purposely dismissed the alarm which had a loud annoying cockerel tone set. Usually, i would snooze the alarm until 5.30. Am supposed to be up before 5.20am if i want to get to work on time but i love my sleep too much. Anyway, this particular Monday, i was not going to work. It felt nice since i was not obligated to wake up, but i knew that i had to wake up at that time. This particular Monday was no ordinary pubic holiday, it was 4th March, Kenya’s 5th presidential elections. I was determined to be among the first in the queue.

My pal Mo's dusty feet....mine were even worse(can you spot them?)
My pal Mo’s dusty feet….mine were even worse(can you spot them?)

As we set out armed with our voters card and national id, we were not aware of the surprise that awaited us. Seemed we were not the only early birds. I have never seen so many confused people clustered in one place!The worse part, we were a mix of all kinds of people; those who’ve never showered since 98, bad morning breath etc.

To cut the long story short, i went back home and came back at 7am, only to find a really long queue. Unfortunate, the initials of my first name had so many people, so i ended up voting at 3pm.

Finally Got the voter print....
Finally Got the voter print….

Even though my legs was numb and my head felt a million tonnes heavier and throbbing with pain, i actually felt good that i had practiced my Democratic right by taking part in a presidential election for the first time.

Meanwhile, we sat all afternoon and all night, watching the election updates, waiting to see if our preferred candidates had won.

Today, 6th/3/2013, we are still waiting for the results 😦

4 thoughts on “KENYA ELECTS A NEW PRESIDENT (MARCH 4TH ELECTIONS)

  1. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep
    a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  2. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

